And The Winner Is….


Last night’s American Horse Publications (AHP) awards contest had some mighty fine equine magazines and people receiving awards for editorial content, graphic design, and overall excellence. In the PowerPoint slideshow announcing each winner, I saw many articles by others that made me think ‘ooh, I want to read that one!’ and photos that I was wowed by, with spectacular color and composition.

While the evening can normally be a bit lengthy, last night seemed to fly by for two reasons – one, that I took off my cinch belt to be more comfortable, and two, that I received several awards for my own articles!

_____________________

2010 American Horse Publications awards certificates!

Yesterday I wrote about the two Finalist articles I was aware of, but the real shocker of the night was the 2nd place win for my series on the Chicago carriage horse case last year, published over a period of months at TheHorse.com. I had no clue it was even a Finalist, and after receiving the first two award certificates (a 2nd place and an Honorable Mention), I’d settled back into my chair thinking all my winning chances were done with. So when they called my name, I was stunned! Made me a little verklempt, even.

AHP has put up a PDF listing all the 2010 awards winners. Congrats to all who received acknolwedgement of their work and talent!

I’m on pages 5, 8, and 18 of the PDF; where possible, I’ll work on getting links and permissions so I can put up the articles for you to read if you like.

Since there’s no chance to say ‘thank yous’ during the AHP awards, I’d like to thank my editors here: Erin Ryder Hsu (formerly TheHorse.com news editor), Kelly Ballou and Celeste Karpf at Equine Journal, and Patty Oxendine at From The Horse’s Mouth for their belief in me and selecting me for article assignments – you’ve made these awards possible! And, I also want to thank my partner JR and our dog Bella, for their love, support, and encouragement.

9 Comments

Filed under Articles, Awards, Uncategorized

9 responses to “And The Winner Is….

  1. Congratulations and “atta girl!” So glad you had such a wonderful evening. Recognition from your peers powers a glow that can’t be beat.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention And The Winner Is…. « No Biz Like Horse Biz / KempEquine -- Topsy.com

  3. So very proud and happy for you my dear, imagine you are still on cloud nine. What an incredible night! Safe journey home.

  4. Huge congratulations. Fantastic peer honors!

  5. What fantastic news!

    Congratulations!

    • Thanks, Jenny! Yup, I’m allowing myself a couple days to enjoy the ‘glow’ – I had the award certificates propped up on my extra bed in the Lexington hotel room (geeky, I know). Is nice to know my writing must be improving, lol.

  6. Pingback: Twitted by Probyn

  7. Karyn

    Darn, I Thought I replied to this via my Droid this morning but I don’t see the comment so must not have gone through!

    What I said was Huge Congratulations and Way to GO! All that hard work is paying off 🙂

    • Nope, I’m just a wee bit slow getting comments approved! Got back into Chicago late Wednesday night, and yesterday was all the ‘de-tripping’ stuff – return car, return camera lens I rented, etc. And, we had a super huge storm last night – storm sirens going off, tornadoes in the area, etc. Chaos!

      Karyn, thank you SO much for thinking of me and for the congrats – it’s been very nice to have recognition of my work, as you know when you’re self-employed that’s a rare occurrence! Hope life (and dogs!) are good on your end, too.

Leave a Reply

