More Work-Arounds for Poor Flip Audio Quality


A question from one of my readers, writer and horsewoman RhondaL, sent me off on the research path for new and improved audio for videos made with the Flip cameras. While I found some great resources for recording and adding voiceover narration, I also came across some other work-around tips to compensate for the Flip’s poor audio quality. Enjoy!

  • Here are some basic, common-sense tips from Greyson Ferguson at eHow.com; to get the best sound possible in your original recording, it’s a good idea to keep these tips in mind, such as minimize jostling, don’t touch the mic while recording, and limit outdoor recording (with the resulting wind-noise), but most horse people WILL be recording outdoors, so that particular option doesn’t work for us.

Thankfully, there’s more….

  • A company called Quick Video Marketing has some videos and checklists about boosting your audio quality using mostly free software. They have options for both Mac and PC; the only paid software is QuickTime Pro, which the narrator (Jeff ‘Herschy’ Schwerdt) says is about $30. The audio on his videos is clear and strong, so while I haven’t yet used this process, I think it might be promising.

I look forward to checking out Darrell’s other audio/video & tech tips, too. He suggests another resource for learning how to maximize your Flip videos, FlipInFocus.com, which looks promising. Thanks, Darrell!

If you’ve missed my other posts on my Flip UltraHD camera, you can search for ‘Flip’ in the Search box to the right. If you have tips that have worked for you, please post them to Comments – I’d love to read about them!

2 Comments

Filed under Equine Industry Marketing, Technology, Uncategorized, Video

2 responses to “More Work-Arounds for Poor Flip Audio Quality

  1. Tammy

    Greetings, I like your website. This is a nice site and I wanted to post a note to let you know, nice job! Thanks Tammy

    • Thanks, Tammy, it’s a work in progress! Glad you found something useful/interesting here. Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment, I appreciate it! Lisa

Leave a Reply

