Monday Morning Quickie – Creative ‘Work-Around’ For Flip Camera Audio Limits


Sorry it’s been an entire week since you’ve heard from me! I’ve been ‘under the weather’ but am now getting back into the swing of things….

I’ve recently written about my Flip Ultra HD video camera and the audio limitations of same, so I thought I’d point out a creative ‘work-around’ that was shared with me by one of my Twitter buddies, Liam Killen over at Abbeyview Equine. A UK-based company, they do Web sites for equestrians, and recently won a BETA 2009 Innovation Award for their PagePlay concept – congrats!

Image courtesy Abbeyview Equine

The video clip is at the Abbeyview Equine YouTube channel, and was filmed at the 2010 Badminton Horse Trials using Liam’s own Flip video camera. Liam has dubbed in music over the long-distance footage or clips that might otherwise be subject to wind noise, and while there is a bit of ambient sound in the background on interview clips, it’s definitely within manageable limits.

If you come across other creative uses of Flip equestrian footage, please send ’em my way! And if you’d like to follow Liam on Twitter, it’s @AbbeyviewEquine.

3 Comments

Filed under Equine Industry Marketing, Technology, Uncategorized, Video

3 responses to “Monday Morning Quickie – Creative ‘Work-Around’ For Flip Camera Audio Limits

  1. I have some footage over which I need to dub new audio. Currently, all I know how to use to edit is the Flip software. Is there a recommended sound editing program?

  2. Pingback: More Work-Arounds for Poor Flip Audio Quality « No Biz Like Horse Biz / KempEquine

Leave a Reply

